the story of our building

The Toy Warehouse Lofts, converted in 2001, was the first of the derelict downtown commercial buildings to be made into live-work space under the Los Angeles Adaptive Reuse Ordinance.  In 1907 grocer R. L. Craig commissioned architects Morgan And Walls to design a new warehouse for his growing business.  The firm, noted in succeeding years for several downtown buildings including the Richfield Tower and several theaters, created the three-level structure with understated but elegant brickwork. Craig died before the building became operational and his wife, Nancy Tuttle Craig, took over and built the business into the largest grocery distributor in the city.  The operation quickly outgrew the building and Mrs Craig, one of the most successful businesswomen in early Los Angeles, moved to a larger warehouse nearby.

Today, the lower level houses administrative offices and the student bookstore for Sci Arc, whose main campus is across the street, and Hammer and Spear, a curated specialty shop offering personal and home care products along with unique found objects.

The upper two floors were converted into 20 loft-style condos and are inhabited by a mixture of creative people including artists, musicians, poets, photographers, jewelers, and writers.

 

Building Management

Manager: Kizzy Bell: (213) 627-2965 ext 1163

kizzysumo@theprimeas.com

After hours  Emergency:  800 706 7838